In My Opinion

Celebrating the Art of David Craven (1946-2016)

In the space of a few months, we find ourselves once again reflecting upon the death of yet another admired artistic talent; the exemplary Canadian painter; David Craven passed away, age 69, (August 22, 2016; Cambridge, New York). more

Sep 4, 2016 11:46 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Regionalism, nationalism, internationalism: How do we ensure the appropriate balance?

Kate Taylor’s article in the Globe and Mail on Aug. 5, No Canadians need apply: the worrying trend in arts hiring, reports and comments about the appointment of a Briton, Ian Dejardin, as the new director of the McMichael Canadian Art Collection. more

Aug 12, 2016 11:28 PM In My Opinion

A New Brunswick Art History Vignette on the occasion of New Brunswick Day (August 1)

The grand flowering of a uniquely American art movement surprisingly has a strong Atlantic Canada connection, most specifically to New Brunswick. more

Aug 3, 2016 9:41 PM In My Opinion

Chris Cran - NGC

Courtesy Allan MacKay

"Chris Cran: Sincerely Yours" National Gallery of Canada until Sept. 5

On Thursday May 19th the National Gallery of Canada launched a triumphal celebration to inaugurate their forty year survey exhibition of over 100 works: more

May 25, 2016 8:45 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Art awards proliferate, but real reward is making art

It would seem being an artist is a thankless occupation. One spends numerous years training, followed by commitment to a life pursuing a solitary practice; what is the reward? more

Apr 19, 2016 4:08 PM In My Opinion 4 Comments

Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun "Self-Portrait with Cerise Ribbons", c. 1782

Courtesy Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, Texas (ACK 1949.02).

Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun in NYC; coming to Ottawa

Organizers emphasize that this is the first retrospective and only the second solo exhibition devoted to Vigée Le Brun in modern times (the previous was 1982 at the Kimbell Art Museum, Fort Worth, Texas). more

Feb 29, 2016 12:00 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: A "Rrose" by any other name would still be "Sélavy"

It would appear the only constant in life is change. The visual arts in Canada are destined for extraordinary transformations; our arts institutions propose major makeovers, expansions, evolutions and philosophic turnarounds. more

Dec 16, 2015 9:33 AM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Cuba seeks a chronicler and a champion

It was something of happenstance that I travelled to Cuba at the very moment President Barrack Obama declared his desire to lift the 1962 U.S. trade embargo on the island nation. more

Feb 28, 2015 5:59 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: China embraces international contemporary art at an almost unfathomable scale.

Growing up, I was comforted and convinced by the boast that the confluence of creativity, economic ingenuity and socially progressive policies poised Canada to inherit the 21st century... China is building public art museums at the rate of 100 a year more

Dec 13, 2014 5:20 PM In My Opinion 1 Comments

IN MY OPINION: Canada needs more art patrons to come to the fore

Does commerce axiomatically compromise integrity? We’d better hope not or we’ll see much less of consequence. But maybe it’s not an ethical question. Maybe it’s the prices that buckle the knees. more

Aug 31, 2014 3:15 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Many of our public art treasures – and the histories they reveal – are shelved, locked away, abandoned

It may be a Canadian delusion, but this has seemed a particularly long and dreary winter. I, for one, am suffering the serious effects of cabin fever. more

Apr 20, 2014 12:00 AM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Art auctions can have chilling effect on the livelihood of artists and gallerists

The Alberta 2013 floods inflicted considerable damage to the province’s cultural infrastructure. Art institutions, individual artists and collectors all sustained lamentable losses, particularly in Calgary, Canmore and High River. more

Sep 4, 2013 12:00 AM In My Opinion 2 Comments

IN MY OPINION: We have a growing education, experiential and life-satisfaction deficit

You might say Calgary’s experience last year as a Cultural Capital of Canada ended not with a bang or a whimper, but with a flash mob. Even a $5.8-million infusion of federal arts funding gave cultural patriots little to cheer. more

May 14, 2013 12:00 AM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Do we need a National Gallery of Western Canada?

It seems our national gallery is out looking for satellite spaces for its coast-to-coast conquest. So, what’s not to like? more

Dec 22, 2012 4:07 PM In My Opinion

What did I think about the Globe article re art in Calgary?

I suppose the minimum to observe is that our friends from across Canada and beyond care about what happens with the visual arts in Calgary. I am optimistic on many fronts. more

Nov 18, 2012 11:21 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Should private funding models be underwriting new “public” art spaces?

Without much fanfare the shape of the arts waterfront has dramatically altered in western Canada. more

Oct 4, 2012 9:20 PM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: Blow This House Down!

Assessing the trend in bigger, shinier, newer gallery spaces. more

Aug 31, 2011 12:00 AM In My Opinion

IN MY OPINION: In the early ‘50s Winnipeg Abstraction ruled the roost!

In the early ‘50s, between the Automatistes and Painters 11, Winnipeg Abstraction ruled the roost! more

Apr 30, 2011 12:00 AM In My Opinion 1 Comments

IN MY OPINION: Invaluable cultural assets have effectively been 'benched'

Quietly, our art museums have morphed. Temporary, contemporary programming has gained a dominant upper hand, commandeering the preponderance of exhibition space and institutional resources. Historical programming is on the wane. more

Dec 30, 2010 12:00 AM In My Opinion



October 27, 2016


October 29, 2016


October 30, 2016


October 31, 2016


November 1, 2016


November 2, 2016

Latest Tweets